The dramatic rock formations of Maine’s coastline are on full display at this popular lighthouse. The layered metamorphic gray rock rises gracefully from the Atlantic Ocean and directs one's attention to a cluster of white and red buildings perched at the top. The white 38-foot-high stone lighthouse tower is the focal point. The tower was first erected in 1827, and it guards the entrance to Muscongus Bay to the east and Johns Bay to the west. Views to Pemaquid Point and across Johns Bay to Thrumcap Island can be had on clear days.
The lighthouse is part of a park owned and operated by the town Bristol, Maine. In addition to the lighthouse tower, the park includes an art gallery, event space and public restrooms. The keeper's house contains a fisherman’s museum displaying local historical artifacts. A portion of the house also serves as a vacation rental. There is a $3.00 per person entry fee into the park. The park is open from 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Monday through Sunday during the summer months (May through October). Tours of the lighthouse tower are available during the summer as well from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Volunteers from the American Lighthouse Foundation provide a brief history of the lighthouse and control how many visitors can climb the to the top of the tower at one time. There is no fee to climb the tower, but donations are appreciated.
As one of Maine’s most popular lighthouses, Pemaquid was voted by the Maine citizens to be featured on the back of the Maine quarter as part of the U.S. mint’s state commemorative quarter series.