Hike-in Required
ADA accessible
Guided tours
Please respect the outdoors by practicing Leave No Trace. Learn more about how to apply the principles of Leave No Trace on your next outdoor adventure here.

The Saugerties Lighthouse is a unique lighthouse on the Hudson River reached via a half mile walking path or by boat. Although some form of marker has been stationed at the mouth of the Esopus River since 1835, it wasn't until 1869 that the red brick building was added as the Keepers' Quarters. The lighthouse was then automated and destaffed in 1954, but it was reactivated in 1990 and remains operational today. Additionally, the lighthouse now serves as a museum and bed and breakfast, offering a very unique place to stay. 

From the parking area visitors will follow a wide, well-maintained walking path half a mile over boardwalks and through wetlands. Roughly halfway to the lighthouse the trail comes to a fork. Following the left fork will lead to a small beach picnic area with a picnic table, views of the Hudson River, and a bench.

The right fork continues over a few more boardwalks toward the lighthouse and a small dock. The dock has limited availability for boaters, but is open to the public. 

Continuing around the lookers right side of the lighthouse, there is a large picnic area on a wooden dock. Tables and chairs can be found here as well as excellent views of the Hudson. 

With only two guest rooms, the bed and breakfast is a hot commodity, and reservations should be made several months out. Availability can be found here. One room for two people is $250 per night, including breakfast.

Logistics + Planning

Preferable season(s)




Parking Pass

Not Required


Great views. Easy access. Family friendly. Close to town.


Can be crowded.

Pets allowed

Allowed with Restrictions


Big vistas


Nearby Adventures


Have updates, photos, alerts, or just want to leave a comment?
Sign In and share them.